The Program Director is Susan J. Pharr, Edwin O. Reischauer Professor of Japanese Politics, Department of Government. Ezra F. Vogel, Henry Ford II Professor of the Social Sciences Emeritus, serves as Honorary Director. The Program’s Postdoctoral Fellows, Academic Associates, and Associates, complete a major research paper during the academic year, and present their research panels in program seminars. The Executive Committee of the Tokyo Alumni Association brings together the program alumni at an annual reception in Tokyo in January, and organizes other alumni activities. The Program is advised by the Faculty Advisory Committee and Policy Advisory Committee, and Faculty Associates at Harvard and neighboring institutions participate actively in program activities. Staff supports a variety of program activities.